Wetaskiwin Theatre Society

Board of Directors 

President - Catlin Hawley

Catlin has a background in retail sales and is currently employed with the Wetaskiwin Co-op.  He is actively involved with the local music scene both as a musician and a sound technician.  As a Board member he supports the Manluk Theatre’s sound and light Technical Team and plays a lead role in organizing and hosting Open Mic nights.  Catlin is currently in the first year as the President of the Wetaskiwin Theatre Society.

Past President - Dale Unland

Dale was born and raised in the Wetaskiwin area.  He has a background in business and is currently the co-owner of REMAX Discover in Wetaskiwin.  Dale was a city councilor when the Wetaskiwin Theatre Society acquired the waterworks building.  His passion for the facility, its operations and its potential for growth is evident through his hands-on approach in his role as a Past President.  

Vice President - George Chrunik

George’s creativity is expressed both through his current work as an architectural designer and his background as a professional dancer with the Shumka Ukrainian Dancers.  His experience as an entrepreneur and his involvement with a major arts organization brings a new level of expertise to the Board.  George is currently in his first year as Vice President.

Secretary/Treasurer - Scot Lorenson

Scot fills the dual role of Secretary/Treasurer for the Board.  His professional background as an accountant brings solid financial guidance to the Wetaskiwin Theatre Society.  Scot also brings his creative side to the Board as an actor, singer and musician and has appeared in several Waterworks Players productions.  Scot is currently in the second year of his second term on the Board.

Director - Tony Goode

Tony is in his second year as a Board Member.  Tony held the position of City Manager when WTS purchased the property from the City of Wetaskiwin.  Inspired by the volunteerism and community spirit that saved the building from the wrecking ball and turned it into a vibrant community hub, Tony is looking forward to being part of planning WTS’s future.

Director - Denise Falenda

Denise is in her second year as a Board Member.  As an active theatre-goer, Denise is looking forward to working within the organization structure from a different perspective. Denise is currently employed at the Home Hardware Distribution Centre.

Director - Dale Aitchison

Dale is in his second year as a Board Member, he owns and operates Dalcon Visual Arts gallery in Wetaskiwin.  He is a very accomplished musician and is very involved with the monthly Open Mic.  Dale is a founding member of the Wetaskiwin Music and Arts Society and he has been integral at organizing the annual Arts and Music Festival.  Dale is actively involved in both Music and all forms of Art. 

Director - Nancy Schlag 

Nancy was born and raised, and has always lived, in Alberta. She started working at the Jubilee Auditorium as a volunteer in the early 70's and that is when her passion for the arts started.  She enjoys all forms of the arts - opera, ballet, musicals, concerts and live theatre.  She has been in banking since 1975 and is currently the branch manager at BMO and loves living in Wetaskiwin.  Nancy is in her first year as a Board Member.

Director - Jessica Lamech

Jessica is in her first year as a Board Member.  She has a background in finance and is currently employed with Maude Financial Inc.  Jessica has a passion for theatre and is fascinated with the history of the Wetaskiwin Theatre Society.  She is very excited to be a part of the Wetaskiwin Theatre Society and to see it continue to thrive and grow. 

Executive Director  – Margreet Jansen van Doorn

Margreet has been in management positions for most of her working career and enjoys working with people of all ages and abilities.  She has been involved with theatre both as a supporter and a participant and is very excited to be part of the creative theatre community and to continue the growth process begun by the multitude of volunteers who have all been instrumental in the current ongoing success of the Society.

Bookkeeper  – Laura Girvan

Laura is retired from her career as an Administrative Assistant with Alberta Health Services.  She is a founding member of the Wetaskiwin Theatre Society and a former Board member.  Her involvement over the past 17 years has included participating in several Waterworks Players productions primarily as a stage manager.  Over the past several years she has filled the position of Office Manager in a volunteer capacity.  Laura continues to volunteer for the society filling the position of Bookkeeper.

Facility Manager  – Harold Schoonmaker

Harold is an accomplished bass guitar player and has been a member of the orchestra for several of the Waterworks Players most recent musical productions.  Also a skilled carpenter, he is sought after as a set builder.  As a retired RCMP member, Harold enjoys the opportunity to use his creative talents in community theatre and has an interest in the care and upkeep of the building.  Harold volunteers for the society filling the position of Facility Manager.

Technical Team – Bonnie Jones, Trevor Payne, Catlin Hawley



Consider contributing as a Director of the Wetaskiwin Theatre Society

LinkWhen we think of the past 17 years of history of the Wetaskiwin Theatre Society, our attention is often drawn to the performers we see on the stage.  However, one aspect that is sometimes overlooked is the commitment and contribution of our member-elected Board of Directors.

The Wetaskiwin Theatre Society's Board of Directors are responsible for the governance of the organization and the operation of its facility to ensure long term success and sustainability.

Boards are enriched when members with a variety of backgrounds come together to sit as Board members.  Current board members have expertise in business, accounting, design, education, a variety of trades, and in the performing arts genres of music, theatre and dance - not to mention a wide variety of personal interests as well.

Members exploring the possibility of nomination to the Board will look at this list and see both similarities and differences with their own skill sets.  The common threads are in interest in the performing arts, our unique and historic facility and a desire to participate in leading a creative and grass-roots nonprofit organization.

For more information please see:

Policy GOV001 Nomination and Election of Board Members  **NEW**

Policy GOV 002 Responsibility of Directors

For more information Contact Us